Tarde para la ira

Spain 2017


Madrid, August 2007. Curro is the only one arrested for the robbery of a jewelry store. Eight years later, his girlfriend Ana and their son are waiting for Curro to get out of prison. Jose is a solitary and reserved man who just doesn´t seem to fit in anywhere. One morning he goes for a coffee at the bar where Ana and her brother work. That winter his life gets interwoven with the other´s at the bar, who take him in as one of their own. This is especially the case with Ana, who sees this newcomer as an outlet for her distressing life. Having done his time, Curro gets out with the hope of starting his life with Ana over again.
But everything has changed in just a very short time.


THE FURY OF A PATIENT MAN, a thriller starring Antonio de la Torre, Luis Callejo and Ruth Díaz, is the directing
debut of Raúl Arévalo, who also co-wrote the script.
Arévalo began his studies at the Cristina Rota School. His first stand-out role in film was DARK BLUE ALMOST BLACK (2006), Daniel Sánchez Arévalo’s first film. He later worked on Antonio Banderas’s SUMMER RAIN (2006) and Gracia Querejeta’s SEVEN BILLIARD TABLES (2007), for which he was nominated for a Goya for Best Supporting Actor.
In 2008, he starred alongside Javier Cámara and Maribel Verdú in THE BLIND SUNFLOWERS, a film by José Luis
Cuerda based on a novel by Alberto Méndez, which garnered him a Goya nomination for Best Male Lead. Under the direction of Daniel Sánchez Arévalo, he won a 2009 Goya for Best Supporting Actor for the comedy FAT PEOPLE. Later, for COUSINHOOD (2001), by the same director, he was a Goya nominee again.
Other titles in his filmography include THE LAST CIRCUS (2010) by Álex de la Iglesia, EVEN THE RAIN (2010),
directed by Icíar Bollaín, and GHOST GRADUATION by director Javi Ruiz Caldera (2012).
In 2014, Arévalo co-starred in Alberto Rodríguez’s MARSHLAND alongside Javier Gutierrez, the same year he
premiered the comedy SIDETRACKED, followed in 2016 by the thriller TO STEAL FROM A THIEF (2016) by Daniel

Cast & Crew

Directed by : Raúl Arévalo

Written by : Raúl Arévalo, David Pulido

Produced by : Beatriz Bodegas

Director of Photography : Arnau Valls

Editor : Ángel Hernández Zoido

Production Design : Antón Laguna

Costume Design : Cristina Rodríguez, Alberto Valcárcel

Hair & Make up Artist : Esther Guillem, Piluca Guillem

Composer : Vanessa Garde, Lucio Godoy

Sound Design : Tamara Arévalo

Main Cast : Antonio De La Torre (Jose), Luis Callejo (Curro), Ruth Diaz (Ana)

Nominations and Awards

  • EFA Feature Film Selection 2017